The so-called „Rechelerhaus“ is probably the oldest painted house in the High Court. The gable is decorated with a simple combination of dragon heads and twisted woods. The joining balk is inscribed with "MELCHER WILLE 1634 CHRISTIAN SEN". The heavy pseudo-architecture fascinates with window frames made of scrollwork, grooved corner pilasters, and a cornice that runs along the roof origin. Picture decoration includes the panel-painting-like fresco as well as the fresco that rests freely on the wall, its figures held there only by a small strip on the floor. The original oven on the western side rests on wooden struts and supports a pent roof.
LAUDECK (LAUDEGG) CASTLE
The castle rests on an impressive crystal slate rock. On the north and west side, the castle hill slopes down to the castle pond and the village of Ladis. The core piece is the might keep. Attached to this heavy residential tower are the chapel and the palas in the northeast, where a ring wall closes off the castle area towards the north.
In the northern areal, the North Tower (residential building) protrudes from the ring wall. From there, the ring wall goes on westward to the gate tower at the castle entrance, and then on towards the south until it reaches the part where the rock has broken. This creates an outer bailey, which is fortified by a small outer ward north of the keep. In the southeast, the castle is unassailable, in the north the ring wall and the towers secure the entrance of the castle.
The Nepomuk well in Ladis dates back to the first half of the 18th century. On the pillar in the well, there is a statue of the holy St. Johann Nepomuk.
PARISH CHURCH OF HOLY ST. MARTIN
Documented 1497, restored after a fire in 1683. Classicistic today, the building was errected between 1829 and 1831 by architect Johann Moosbrugger. Ceiling painting of the "Bergpredigt" by Johann Kärle from 1879. In the choir fresco there is a picture of holy Martin by Josef Prantl from 1961. Altar picture of holy Martin as intercessor in front of Madonna by Josef Arnold from 1833. The right altar picture by Kaspar Jele shows the birth of Christ. Baroque crucifix by Andreas Kölle, first half of the 18th century.
COMMUNITY HALL AND ROSE INN
On the community hall is an aiming log inscribed with „Hannß Märckh hatt Erpaudt das Haus“. The builder of the house was an excellent stonemason and lived around 1520. The upper row of the frescoes on the west front, which have sadly started to crumble slightly, show Lukas, a window gable with a head, Adam and Eve, and a window gable with volutes and Marc. In the bottom row, you see a landsknecht, Orpheus, a symposium, and hermits. The attached Rose Inn is inscribed with the date 1590. Its builder, Hanns Märckh, was most likely the grandchild of stonemason Märckh.
The Stockerhaus is one of the most significant artistic rural heritage buildings in Tyrol. Particularly beautiful and unique is the two-storeyed oriel with renaissance ornaments and figurines. For miles around, there is no other house with such a unique oriel. The date 1684 on the gable says that a new roof truss was built on the house, since it had also been partly destroyed in the great village fire of 1683. The overall theme of the paintings shows lots of contrasts such as Old and New Testament, man and God, good and evil, death and life, freedom and oppression. The owners of the Stockerhaus most likely wanted to display their wealth, education and open-mindedness with the paintings.
WELL OF THE RESURRECTED
This is a well with a statue of the resurrected Christ. The figure dates back to the third quarter of the 17th century and is attributed to Adam Payr.
For more sights in the area, click HERE.